QuestionMT4 no longer starts

Hello to all,

I use the MT4 from ICmarkets.
For a few days now I have had the problem, that the MT4 can no longer be started. I click on it, then it looks like it is about to start for 2-3 seconds but nothing happens.

I tried it as an admin, I tried it without a firewall or security, even in safe mode it doesn't work.
The demand at ICmarkets also yielded nothing.

I have saved some indicators and templates under it, does anyone have an idea how I can get to them now?

Many thanks for all help !!

Greetings

MaxTorque

Re: MT4 no longer starts

MaxTorque wrote: Tue Nov 02, 2021 8:46 pm Hello to all,

For a few days now I have had the problem, that the MT4 can no longer be started. I click on it, then it looks like it is about to start for 2-3 seconds but nothing happens.

I tried it as an admin, I tried it without a firewall or security, even in safe mode it doesn't work.

I have saved some indicators and templates under it, does anyone have an idea how I can get to them now?

Greetings

MaxTorque
In your MetaTrader 4 at the top, Go to File > Open Data Folder.

This will take you straight to a folder named with lots of random numbers and letters eg. 9D15457EC01AD10E06A932AAC616DC32

All of your contents are in that folder. Save them all, or zip them up, Uninstall and Re-install your MT4.

Copy all the contents that you've saved from that folder into your new Data folder (it will be a different number as it changes for ever MT4 Platform install).

PS: Also try this method before uninstalling your MT4, too: MT4 Keeps closing down after it opens.
Attachments
Important: The worst forex brokers of all time 👎

Have often wondered if you can get to that folder without opening mt4 (or if mt4 won't start).

Otherwise, if mt4 is corrupted you need to uninstall but check the 'Save personal data' box before ok.